About Nicole

I guess I'll start with the simple stuff first. :)

I am a happily married mama to two very sweet little boys. My oldest was born in 2005, and my little one in 2009.

I have been married to a wonderful Tunisian man for over 10 years. <3

I have been a practicing Muslim since 2003. (For more info on that, check out my 'how I became a Muslim page').

So, those are the biggest parts of my life. Besides loving my life as a Muslim mom and wife, I also love a bunch of other things!

I have recently lost a bunch of weight, and still have a little bit to go before I reach my goal. So, I am really into eating clean (ie, not binging), working out and listening to my body. I have 31 years of weight issues that I am just now dealing with and working out. I like to say that I am in 'recovery' just like an alcoholic would be.
And, just in case you're wondering, YES! Muslim women who cover, still want to look good and be healthy! We don't cover up at home ya know. :o)

I really like doing crafty things. Which, when I was younger, I was really horrible at. But, thanks to tutoring from my mom, I make a pretty cute diaper cake every now and then. I (kinda) tried selling them, and I did a few times, but they usually end up as nice gifts for an expecting mama. Which is more than ok with me!
I really, really, really want to learn to sew! I have wanted to for years, and never made the time to sit down and learn. My grandma is an awesome seamstress, so on my list of 'to-do's' is to definitely sit down with her and learn all the tricks.

I am into natural and homeopathic living. Yes, I'm one of those crunchy and all natural freaks! I do my best to buy organic as much as I can, we don't vaccinate, I breastfed and cloth diapered, and am halfway practicing attachment/peaceful parenting. I say halfway because the half that is not practiced is because of me and things I need to work on. PATIENCE being one of them. :)
I love anything that is natural and simple.

I love traveling and hope to do more of it. I have yet to visit Tunisia, but God WILLING will be able to go soon. I also want to go to sooo many other places too.

I do a lot of cooking. Most of it is Tunisian food, and come to think of it, I think I know more Tunisian recipes than American ones! I need to work on that and also want to start creating some hybrid dishes. hehe

My oldest son was born with Tetralogy of Fallot with Pulmonary Atresia. Which, in english means that he was born with a heart defect that has/had 4 separate defects. He has had 2 open heart surgeries, 2 cardiac catheterizations and has been treated for an aneurysm that he got after his TOF repair. Thanks only to Allah (God), he is here with us and is doing awesome! Looking at him, you would never know he went through all of that. He is a smart, funny and caring little 6 year old who truly loves life.
We are awaiting his 3rd (and Allah willing) and final open heart surgery. Not sure when that will be exactly, but his cardiologist thinks sometime between 10-15 years of age.

So, there is my ever evolving 'About Me'. Keep following the blog to learn more. :)